Mark W. Spong


Professor, Excellence in Education Chair

[email protected]
Phone: 972-883-3909
Office: ECS 3.212

800 West Campbell Rd.
Mailstop: EC39
Richardson, TX 75080-3021


DsC, Systems Science and Mathematics, Washington University, 1981
Systems Science and Mathematics, Washington University, 1979
MS, Mathematics, New Mexico State University, 1977
BA, Mathematics and Physics, Hiram College, 1975


Dr. Mark W. Spong is former dean of the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science and holder of the Lars Magnus Ericsson Chair in Electrical Engineering and the Excellence in Education Chair at The University of Texas at Dallas. Prior to 2008, he was the Donald Biggar Willett Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His main interests are in nonlinear control theory and robotics. He has published more than 250 papers and four books in the area. Spong is past president of the IEEE Control Systems Society and past editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology. His recent awards include the 2007 IROS Fumio Harashima Award for Innovative Technologies, the Senior Scientist Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the John R. Ragazzini Award and O. Hugo Schuck Award from the American Automatic Control Council and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal. Spong is a Fellow of the IEEE and president of Mechatronic Systems, Inc., a company that he founded in 1996.